Heritage Conservation Society

The online database is now at www.philippineheritage.com

Victor Fernandez Gaston House (Silay City)

Posted by admin on July 27, 2006

Built 1897, the Balay Negrense is the restored residence of Victor F. Gaston, son of Yves Leopold Germaine Gaston. Left unused by the family and after becoming among other things, a dance studio, the house deteriorated until a group from Silay decided to restore the house. By the time restoration began, parts of the house had fallen and its furnishings dispersed.

Heritage Features: The house is a later and more airy version of the bahay na bato. The first floor, raised from the damp earth is pierced by windows that make the interior brighter than older houses. The first floor is no longer just a storage space but large foyer which leads to rooms and offices. The lower floor connects to the upper story through a grand staircase. The upper floor has bedrooms flanking the living room. To the rear is the dining hall and kitchen. The upper story is made of wood with generous ventanillas that allow air to circulate throughout the house. The house has been furnished with furniture and appurtenances donated by various persons. Arranged as a lifestyle museum, Balay Negrense is also available for social functions, like wedding receptions.

Address: Cinco de Noviembre St.

Photos from Ivan Anthony S. Henares
Text from Panublion Heritage Site

8 Responses to “Victor Fernandez Gaston House (Silay City)”

  1. Floro Espares said

    I’d been to this ancestral house and I was enamored of the place. The way the rooms of siblings were designed, one could surmise that the patriach really instilled in his children filial love and closeness among themselves. I wonder how breathtaking this house was in its original state then. Even now in its “deteriorating state”, it is still lovely and beautiful. Having seen at close range was indeed a dream fulfilled to me. I would tire of coming back if i got the chance again. Thanks to those kindred hearts who made the efforts to revive its glorious presence for the new generations to appreciate.

  2. Floro Espares said

    I would not tire (I should say, sorry) of coming back . . . .

  3. Valerie said

    Such a creepy house. We were asked not to take photos of the second floor and when I went home and asked my helper who is from Negros, she told me that some photos taken from the house have some “ghosts” in it..

    Well honestly, I felt a chill while inside the second floor of the house…..but still, a nice place to visit and same goes to the city of Silay..

    http://www.valcaulin.com/article/ancestral-home-in-silay/438/

  4. Bob Hillsborough said

    Seven years ago, I visited the Gaston house with extended family. There’s a restored grand piano there that is older than the house itself. My lolo-in-law played that piano and it still sounded good. Wish there were more of these restored houses in Negros.

  5. Floro A. Espares said

    I’d like to propose that the province of Masbate or Masbate City itself be entered also in this site. There is one antiquated house there which is still intact. The house is owned by the Bayot family. A former carnival queen, Carmen Zaldarriaga, once lived in the said house. There are religious icons in the house which are interesting pieces. It is believed that the house had been spared of fires that razed that area before. The icons must have miraculously protected the house.

  6. This is the place where my husband contracted marriage to another woman before . I am just wondering why Rev. Fr. Casiano A. Cosmilla a Parish Priest could solemnizing marriage of a man who is also married already. I know because I am the lawful wife and besides of all places in Silay pa because I considered myself a Silaynon because I was raised there by my parents since I was three years old until we transferred to Bacolod to study elementary and high school.I was able to secure their marriage certificate before and until now I am waiting for the right time to sue them in court . The family knows that he was already a married man .

  7. howpreess said

    Hello bro.
    ..HERE http://hirilawn.blog.com

  8. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
