Heritage Conservation Society

The online database is now at www.philippineheritage.com

Hospico de San Jose (Barili)

Posted by admin on January 2, 2007

35 Responses to “Hospico de San Jose (Barili)”

  1. Arnold_Carl said

    From NgKhai.Com
    http://www.ngkhai.com/pointcebu/facts/hospice.htm

    Hope for Hospice

    Anyone who travels through the barrio of Gibuangan In the outskirts of Barili cannot but be impresses by the sight of old buildings off the road. This is the unique and now largely forgotten institution called Hospicio de San Jose.

    It traces its beginnings to November 27, 1925, when the Philippine Commission passed Public Act No. 3239 accepting the offer of Pedro Cui and his sister Benigna to establish a home for the care of the indigent, invalid and abandoned elders (at least 60 years old) free of charge.

    Then on January 2, 1926, the Cuis executed a deed of donation, which formally endowed the Hospicio with income from the extensive Cui properties in Barili and Southern Cebu. Don Pedro and Doña Benigna were merchant-philanthropists who built their fortune from tobacco production in the 19th century.

    The Hospicio is the “first and only home for the aged in the Philippines that is totally funded by a private endowment.” Doña Benigna Cui was its first administrator.

    The impressive Hospicio complex (which had assets valued at P1,028 million in 1929) consisted of dormitories, a chapel, an infirmary, an electric plant, and an administration building set on a one-hectare property. It had 11 inmates in 1929 and 88 in 1981.

    Today, it is beset by problems of management and diminished assets (owing to the loss of old agricultural estates to land reform). However, it continues to function under the administration of the Cui family.

  2. mindy said

    could you please post their cebu contact number. thank you.

  3. Mrs. Ma. Lourdes A. Ching said

    How are the old people taken cared of……..like who cooks their food, who gives their bath, who washes and irons their clothes, who fixes the beds of those who cannot do it, what about their medical needs (doctors, medicines, hospitalizations, others).
    Where does their daily living support come from and who manages it?
    How many employees take care of their needs; paid and volunteers. Aside from the Cui money/income who else help out.
    I’m asking and I’m interested because I come from Barili and I was born there. I hope that someone from the Hospicio can give me the answers to my questions.
    By the way, Teresa Cui was my classmate in High School. Can anybody tell me where she is and how she is?
    I thank you very much.

  4. charisse said

    may i know the contact numbers of Hospicio de San Jose?
    Thanks.

    cha_ponce@yahoo.com

    • Mai Cui said

      hi,
      our admin tel. number s 412-7001 and 2546274,
      ty;)

      • Walter Sanson Lotilla said

        Hi Mai,
        I hope you are doing fine. I have talked to Mr. Ludovico D. Badoy, Executive Director – National Historical Commission of the Philippines, of which the Hospicio should be recognized or declared as a historical site of which Vic ( Mr. Badoy ) readily agreed to assist and facilitate. Shoyld the hospicio be interested, you may submit your request to the email ad –> ldb_oed@yahoo.com
        You may freely cite my name to Vic and also as descendant of the Cui Clan.
        Cheers
        WALTER SANSON LOTILLA

      • Iam Dy Cui said

        hello walter,
        tto douglas already call rgrdng that, they already talk with tito vic.
        thx a lot…

  5. mcsrg said

    I am one of the descendants of the Cui family.

    The foundation that supports Hospicio de San Jose is very rich and in fact, still raking in a lot of income from investments and from real estate rentals. Thus, it can very well support the doctors, nurses and all the help and needs of the residents.
    Also, Don Pedro left a lot of properties to all recognized nephew and nieces, These are real estate land, building, etc. scattered all over Cebu City and which are prime properties.

    Only a “Cui” last name can be administrator of the foundation…preferably a lawyer or a doctor.
    At present time, I am please to say that it is very well managed by the present administrator.
    A relative can visit and in fact stay for free as long as you reserve ahead of time. I heard that there are also plans to build a wing for relatives who can no longer afford their retirement years.

    I have very good memories of visiting the Hospicio as a child.

  6. jude said

    do you have a branch in pangasinan city and if you have could you please send me a contact no.

  7. glyn kiams said

    can i ask for the cebu office contact number please? thanks

  8. Rae said

    can I know your vision and mission and where are some of your other branches?

  9. chris said

    hi can i ask if how many elderly are there in hospicio de san jose? what’s the current population?
    ty😉

  10. We are planning to give a visit and donate some goods for the elders. Would that be okay?

    • Mai Cui said

      hello,
      sorry for the late reply..anytime u can visit hospicio de san jose de barili. first u have to write a letter adress to our administrator, Atty. Mariano Y. Cui Jr.. please state in ur letter when s ur plan in visiting the institution. note, we are not accepting visitors on sundays.
      thank you.., for more information u cal our admin ofis at telephone number 412-7001 or 254-6274.

  11. Jean said

    I would like to place my father in your hospice because I am working and cannot afford to hire a caregiver. Can you help me with my father please?

    Thanks.

  12. Venus Montealto said

    hi mam mai, we are interested to visit the hospicio once in a while and was planning to bring food for the beneficiaries. read from your message above that we need to send a letter to the administrator. considering the distance since we are living in the city, is it okay to get his email ad and send him email of our intentions instead? we intend to visit the place twice a month. hope you can get back to me on this. thanks. tried calling your two lanlines but did not get an answer from the other line. thanks.

    • mai said

      hello mam,
      we have office here n da city. its n da ground floor of century plaza hotel, rm 33. so u can snd ur letter here n our admin office.
      thank u.

  13. Ruby San Agustin said

    Hello,
    My family will be arriving in Cebu mid December 2012 and I would like to ask what is the exact address of your ofc. so I can send a letter to Atty. Cui with regards to our intent in giving small holiday packages for our elderly friends at the Hospicio. Also, what is the most updated count on the no. of elderlies in the facility (male and female).
    Thank you so much and hope to hear from you.

    Ruby Lee San Agustin

    • I need the same information too. tried calling the land line numbers but there is no reply. Smart mobile number of accountant also no reachable. Hospicio staff please respond to our query. We want to give a little something for the elders. thank you.

  14. mai said

    hello, good day…
    sorry just open this website. if u want u can still call our admin ofis at tel. 4127001 or 2546274. u can also email us at hosajob@yahoo.com or snd a msg tru fb, hospicio barili.
    ty.

    • Ruby Lee San Agustin said

      Hi Mai,

      I am already back here in the States but I was able to give the holiday packages for the elderlies at your ofc. in Cebu. In fact, I was even able to talk to your administrator, Atty. M. Cui, Jr. when I was there.

      Thanks.

      Ruby Lee San Agustin

  15. Stephanie said

    I’m a student and I’m planning to visit Hospicio de San Jose to help take care of the children and elderly if that’s possible. I contacted one of the landline numbers given to me and I was told to compose a letter stating my intentions. I would just like to ask who should I address the letter to? Should I address it to Atty. Mariano directly?

  16. i’m a student and my group is planning to conduct a research about the management of health care among hospice nurses towards dying patients. and the group chose the hospicio de san jose. and i would like to ask if how many dying patients are taken cared. and how many staff nurses are employed. please reply ASAP :))

  17. CHONA DELA PENA said

    good day sir/mam.im chona dela pena i just graduated as a caregiver and i just pass the tesda licensure exam.i would like to ask if you are hiring caregivers in your institution,and what are the requirements needed to pass.sir/mam im living herein the city,and i haven”t been in barili,may i also know how can i go there.hoping that you may spare some time to my letter.thank you and GODBLESS!

  18. Generally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do it!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

  19. Drex said

    Hi,

    We are planning to have our annual charity work at Hospicio Barili. I understand that you have children as well aside from geriatric patients.
    Can you please tell me the exact number of children and their age range. I also need the same info of your geriatric patients.

    Hoping to get a response from you soon. Thank you.

  20. Raul said

    Dear Sir/ Madam,

    I’d like to ask your good office regarding this matter. If in case, a family member would like to take back her/ his loved one who had been there ( Hospico ) in your care for years. What are the necessary steps and or requirements he/ she has to take / prepare to go to the process? Like, any financial obligation?

    Hope to hear from you. Thanks

  21. Joy lorico said

    Hi good morning I tried calling 4127001 & 2546274 I’ve been trying to since yesterday no one answer.

Leave a Reply

 
