Heritage Conservation Society

The online database is now at www.philippineheritage.com

San Joaquin Cemetery

Posted by admin on January 13, 2008

The San Joaquin Cemetery (1892), one of a number built in Iloilo province during the 19th century, is located along the highway leading to the town. Built on a low rise, the cemetery’s square perimeter is demarcated by a wrought iron fence and shored by a wall of carved stone, embellished with niches and saints. A flight of 20 steps leads up to the cemetery compound. The octagonal structure at the compound’s center is a mortuary chapel, where it was customary to bless the dead. The chapel is decorated with Classical motifs. A pointed dome crowns the whole structure. (Panublion)

3 Responses to “San Joaquin Cemetery”

  1. maik said

    the most beautiful cemetery i have ever seen

  2. Evelyn Turqueza-Dreher said

    I am sure my great grandparents Abacan-Morales were burried here and my grandmother, Cristeta Morales Abacan-Camilo as well. I had been searching for the relatives of my mother from Iloilo. Her mother died when she was a girl. Cristeta, my grandmother had a sister married to a Valenzuela and they have a son, my mother’s cousin, Ruditch Valenzuela. Please help me find them!

    I would love to see the ancestral home of my great grandparents or their family plot or tombs.

    Thank you!

  3. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this site, as
    I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it
    to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting
    is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow
    loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could
    damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a comment